• Heritage Area At a Glance 

  • Advisory Board & Volunteers

  • Staff

    Mountain Maryland Gateway to the West Heritage Area
    Heritage Area & Groups Director
    Garrett County Chamber of Commerce
    15 Visitors Center Drive - McHenry, MD 21541
    Office: 301.387.4386
    Direct: 301.387.5238  

    Teresa Larkin, Administrative Assistant







    Heritage Area Advisory Board

    Garrett County Community Action
    Peggy Jamison, Grant Resource Director, Chairperson

    MD Department of Planning
    David Cotton, Principal Planner, Marketing Committee

    Private Business Rep (Tourism related Chamber member)

    Natural Resources Conservation Specialist
    Wade Dorsey

    Garrett County Agriculture Representative (Member of Ag Community)
    Cheryl DeBerry, Natural Resources Business Specialist, Grants Committee Chair, Marketing Committee

    Garrett County Arts Council
    Kathy Beachler, Executive Director, Grant Committee

    Private Business Rep (Tourism related Chamber member)
    Lori Nelson, Inn at Deep Creek

    Garrett County Historical Society
    John MacGowan

    Garrett County Municipalities Inc.
    Robin Jones, Administrator, Town of Grantsville

    Garrett Trails Inc.
    Josh Spiker, Executive Director

    Garrett College
    Cherie Krug, Director, Garrett College Foundation, Inc., Development Committee

    Garrett County Commissioner Rep
    Cindy Sharon, Garrett County Economic Development, Development Committee, Grant Committee

    Private Business Rep (Tourism related Chamber member)
    Elizabeth Williams, The Fronterra Group 

    Chamber of Commerce Board Rep
    Patty Manown Mash, Smiley’s Restaurant and Pizzeria, Marketing Committee, Development Committee

    Maryland Department of Commerce
    Andrew Sargent, Regional Specialist for Garrett, Allegany and Washington

    Volunteers - Heritage Area Committees

    The Mountain Maryland Gateway to the West Heritage Area invites you to become part of our various committees.  A brief summary of the committees are listed below. If you are interested in joining a committee, please fill out the form below and let us know which committee interests you the most.

    • The Education Committee focuses on planning, developing and executing educational programs to promote the heritage area. 
    • The Marketing Committee assists the Director in developing a Marketing plan to raise awareness of the heritage area including its resources and programs.
    • The Development Committee generates and implements ideas to raise funds with the goal of enabling the heritage area to be self-sustaining and increase support for the mini-grant program.
    • The Grants Committee reviews project and mini-grant grant applications in addition to assisting the Director in identifying new grant opportunities.
  • This project has been financed in part with State Funds from the Maryland Heritage Areas Authority, an instrumentality of the State of Maryland.
    However, project contents or opinions do not necessarily reflect the views or policies of the Maryland Heritage Areas Authority.

  • Photo Credits: Tim Jacobsen, Bob Carney, Marcia Warnick, Sarah Myers, Crede Calhoun, Higher Focus Studios, Garrett Historical Society, Garrett County Chamber of Commerce